Page 1 of 1

Evade - Charge Sequence in Impact Phase

Posted: Tue Sep 08, 2009 11:12 pm
by kal5056
If you have 3 battle groups which can evade in the vicinity of each other and 3 opponent's battle groups declare charges on all 3.
There are no interception charges involved
Do you move all 3 evaders then move the 3 chargers?
or
Do you evade 1 then move its' charger then move 2 and then move its' charge and so on?

Thank You
Gino
SMAC

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 12:35 am
by deadtorius
I believe you do each charge and evade independently, moving players choice of which charge to start with.

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 8:54 am
by nikgaukroger
Full turn sequence it say all evades then all charges - check it out :)

In practice it is often easier to do evades and charges in one part of the table before moving on if they aren't going to affect anything else. A bit like rolling CT immediately after a combat when strictly they are all done after all combats are resloved.

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:28 am
by philqw78
nikgaukroger wrote:Full turn sequence it say all evades then all charges - check it out :)
If you do your charge angles right this means you can force evading BG into the path of your other charges, Oo'er missus, more cheese!

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:38 am
by hammy
philqw78 wrote:
nikgaukroger wrote:Full turn sequence it say all evades then all charges - check it out :)
If you do your charge angles right this means you can force evading BG into the path of your other charges, Oo'er missus, more cheese!
True but only if you can charge those pesky skirmishers in the flank or rear or if the silly skirmishers are trying to be clever by arranging themselves at silly angles.

I think I have managed this trick at most three times in all the games I have played.

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 11:39 am
by stenic
nikgaukroger wrote:A bit like rolling CT immediately after a combat when strictly they are all done after all combats are resloved.
Hmm.. My QRS notes combat loss is an immediate CT test. I'll have to check the order of actions again.

Steve P

Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 7:53 pm
by sagji
nikgaukroger wrote:Full turn sequence it say all evades then all charges - check it out :)
I don't see where the full sequence says all evades - it just says "Make evade moves." The implication is that it is all, however P68 is a little more specific it says "Each charge and any responses to it must be actioned in the in the order listed in the full turn sequence at the end of the book, but if there is more than one charge the active player chooses the order in which they are actioned."

To me this means that you pick a charging BG and do all the responses to its charge, and then its charge move, and then pick another charging BG and resolve its charge, and so on.

A BG that is charged by multiple BG will do its evade when the first of those BGs resolves its charge, but it will consider all of its chargers when determining evade path.

Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 11:32 pm
by deadtorius
Thats what I thought too.... perhaps we wre wrong???

Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 11:35 pm
by kal5056
As you can see the wording is a bit tricky as a team mate and I have discovered and it can make a pretty big difference when trying to corral skirmishers. If at all possible could the authors please clarify?
Thank You
Gino
SMAC

Posted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:04 am
by hammy
The sequence of play applies across the whole table.

If the intention was that each charge and its responses were distinct then the sequence of play would have some sort of loop in it where you declare a charge, do all the reactions etc.

Declare all charges, resolve all reactions, move all chargers.

In practice is it often easier to do individual charges and reactions sequentially but when it makes a difference follow the sequence of play.

Posted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 10:37 am
by lawrenceg
sagji wrote:
nikgaukroger wrote:Full turn sequence it say all evades then all charges - check it out :)
I don't see where the full sequence says all evades - it just says "Make evade moves." The implication is that it is all, however P68 is a little more specific it says "Each charge and any responses to it must be actioned in the in the order listed in the full turn sequence at the end of the book, but if there is more than one charge the active player chooses the order in which they are actioned."

To me this means that you pick a charging BG and do all the responses to its charge, and then its charge move, and then pick another charging BG and resolve its charge, and so on.

A BG that is charged by multiple BG will do its evade when the first of those BGs resolves its charge, but it will consider all of its chargers when determining evade path.
P68 looks ambiguous because "they" might refer to only the charges in "if there is more than one charge" or it might refer to the "charges and any responses" in the previous clause. The use of "Each" at the start adds to the confusion.

I'm pretty sure that when this question was first raised, the authors did not agree which interpretation was the one intended. IIRC in the end decided that you did all responses first, in the order decided by the active player, then all charges in the order decided by the active player.

Isn't this in the FAQ?

Re: Evade - Charge Sequence in Impact Phase

Posted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 12:03 pm
by marioslaz
kal5056 wrote:If you have 3 battle groups which can evade in the vicinity of each other and 3 opponent's battle groups declare charges on all 3.
There are no interception charges involved
Do you move all 3 evaders then move the 3 chargers?
or
Do you evade 1 then move its' charger then move 2 and then move its' charge and so on?

Thank You
Gino
SMAC
Since there are 3 BG which can evade, the charging BG need to roll a VDM (all enemies evade if I rightly understood). Then you make the evade move of nearest BG, after you accomplished it you measure the distance from second BG and you compare with the adjusted move of charger; if charger would contact second BG it also make a VDM and perform its evade move, and so on. I supposed each evading BG 'cover' the other ones, so they must evade only if the interposing friend BG evade. If some BGs can be contacted contemporaneously they will evade at the same time. This is how I would have resolved this situation.

Posted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 12:41 pm
by petedalby
Isn't this in the FAQ?
Not in my version - no.

But I play it as you describe. All intercepts - all evades - all charges.

As per the detailed sequence of play on P168. This is supported by the introduction to charges on P52 and again on P68 - Sequence of Charges & Responses.