When are Scythed Chariots actually removed from table?
Posted: Sun Feb 02, 2025 12:08 pm
Apologies for sounding like a newb, but I am confused as to when Scythed Chariots are actually removed from the table.
The latest rulebook iteration (Mar 2024) has two contradictory entries regarding their removal.
Joint Action Phase (Page 82) - Outcome Moves in the Joint Action Phase - Scythed Chariots:
Scythed chariots that remain in front edge contact with unbroken enemy they fought this turn are removed from the table at the start of the joint action phase. This does not cause any cohesion tests.
Special Features (Page 95) - Scythed Chariots - Bullet point six:
• Are removed from the table, at the end of a joint action phase if they have previously charged into contact (in any turn) unless they are in contact with an enemy battlegroup to their front.
I understand that one combat, and Scythed Chariots are a spent force. But the two 'rules' appear to differ in their interpretation of a 'combat'.
The one in the JAP appears to take a combat as a single turn of combat (an Impact & an melee phase).
While the one in the Special Features section implies that additional turns of 'fighting' will continue until the 'combat' with the enemy initially charged into has run it's course, at which point the Scythed Chariots are removed.
Please can I get some clarification on this please?
Many thanks,
WW
The latest rulebook iteration (Mar 2024) has two contradictory entries regarding their removal.
Joint Action Phase (Page 82) - Outcome Moves in the Joint Action Phase - Scythed Chariots:
Scythed chariots that remain in front edge contact with unbroken enemy they fought this turn are removed from the table at the start of the joint action phase. This does not cause any cohesion tests.
Special Features (Page 95) - Scythed Chariots - Bullet point six:
• Are removed from the table, at the end of a joint action phase if they have previously charged into contact (in any turn) unless they are in contact with an enemy battlegroup to their front.
I understand that one combat, and Scythed Chariots are a spent force. But the two 'rules' appear to differ in their interpretation of a 'combat'.
The one in the JAP appears to take a combat as a single turn of combat (an Impact & an melee phase).
While the one in the Special Features section implies that additional turns of 'fighting' will continue until the 'combat' with the enemy initially charged into has run it's course, at which point the Scythed Chariots are removed.
Please can I get some clarification on this please?
Many thanks,
WW