Page 1 of 1

Orb formation

Posted: Sat Jul 25, 2009 5:46 pm
by Splinter
Hello, in my club we have some questions about the orb formation (rulebook pg 122). The problem comes with the number of dices that the unit can roll in impact or melee, and the number of dices that their enemies can roll. Let's see it with this diagram:

KN KN KN KN
SP SP
SP SP
SP SP
SP SP

A BG of Spearmen in orb formation is charged by a BG of Knights (all units are Steady). The rulebook says that the unit of Sp can fight with 1/4 of bases in any direction (rounded up), and 1/2 of these counts as front rank bases.
So, in these case, the unit of Sp can fight with 2 bases in any direction, counting only 1 base as a front rank base.

IMPACT
As the Kn contact 2 bases of Sp, is it a fight of 2 bases vs 2 bases? Or is it only a combat of 1 base vs 1 base, as the Sp have only 1 base counting as a front rank base?

MELEE
In melee the Sp fights with only 2 bases. But as a unit in orb formation "cannot be overlapped" (pg 122), do the Kn roll 4 dices, or do they roll 2 dices as the Sp have only 1 base counting as a front rank base?

I know it's a little confusing, but I hope that someone can resolve our doubts.
Thanks and sorry my poor english!!

Re: Orb formation

Posted: Sat Jul 25, 2009 6:26 pm
by hazelbark
Splinter wrote:
IMPACT
As the Kn contact 2 bases of Sp, is it a fight of 2 bases vs 2 bases? Or is it only a combat of 1 base vs 1 base, as the Sp have only 1 base counting as a front rank base?
KN 1 base with two dice vs Sp 1 base with two dice
POA KN do not get lance because Sp are steady. SP are only one rank for orb rule so no POA.

So POA is even 2 dice each


Splinter wrote: MELEE
In melee the Sp fights with only 2 bases. But as a unit in orb formation "cannot be overlapped" (pg 122), do the Kn roll 4 dices, or do they roll 2 dices as the Sp have only 1 base counting as a front rank base?
no overlap. 1 base of KN

Posted: Sat Jul 25, 2009 6:47 pm
by Splinter
Thank you!! :wink:

Posted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:35 pm
by DavidT
Thanks for posing this question and answering it.
This one had been bothering me as well.

Posted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 8:48 pm
by hazelbark
Scrumpy regularly uses orbs against me as the double envelopement of his line begins. I am still not ready for it when he does it. I would say it is effective against CV that is getting around, but is extra vulnerable to thinks that get a POA versus steady spear. worst case impact foot. But also other spear. As you don't get your own POAs just negate the others.

Posted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 11:52 pm
by deadtorius
how about heavy weapons that negates the spears and takes out his armor. Those should break that orb rather well I would think.

Posted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 12:10 am
by hazelbark
Yes a heavy weapon gets only 1 POA edge. So it is good.

Posted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 11:02 am
by domblas
thk u for this post that answers exactly to one of my doubts.

the other doubt is about the position of the general touching an orb

should a general be in contact with an orb, and thus giving one point bonus to CT if that general is not with the BG. I mean, in orb formation the only position for a general should be in the middle of the orb, thus it is considered with the BG. am i right or wrong?

Posted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 3:52 pm
by hazelbark
domblas wrote:thk u for this post that answers exactly to one of my doubts.

the other doubt is about the position of the general touching an orb

should a general be in contact with an orb, and thus giving one point bonus to CT if that general is not with the BG. I mean, in orb formation the only position for a general should be in the middle of the orb, thus it is considered with the BG. am i right or wrong?
wrong in game terms. I think we all see what you are saying, but the general could be encouraging them from inside or nearby which is different than fighting in the front rank which mean getting messy. The exact stand placement is less relevant.