Afrika Korps (BE+A) ~~ Rommel and "rule of one"
Posted: Sat May 21, 2022 9:44 pm
Greetings everyone 
Joining eskuche on his adventure through North Africa and finally start my second run of "Afrika Korps", modified by Locarnus for "Battlefield Europe + Addon".
No Field Marshal, only Rommel difficulty this time.
However I've thought again about some equipment limitations, BE+A is inviting you to try it. But I will not cry if I fail to follow them (or...maybe...
).
"rule of one"
...means you take only 1 individual unit per type into your core. E.g. only
1 Pz III
1 Pz IV
1 8.8 Flak
1 10.5cm leFH
1 Bf 109 series of fighters
1 MC series of fighters
etc.
What exactly means "only 1 unit per type" is, however, open for debate. Example, with the given efile, the StuG III B and E are infantry support units (tank in mode 1, short range 75mm artillery in mode 2) but the Stug III F, F/8 and G are tanks (no secondary mode). Would having a StuG III B and a StuG III G already break the rule? Or what about having a Pz IV F1 and a Pz IV H? The stat differences are quite significant between the two versions.
I won't be strict here and say "a StuG III B and G are 2 different units" for myself.
However:
- 10.5cm leFH with horse
- 10.5cm leFH with truck
---> are not 2 different units
But:
- 10.5cm leFH with horse
- 15cm NblWf with horse
---> are 2 different units
Meaning, I ignore organic transports, otherwise you would probably run out of units one way or another.
Replays:
Keep in mind you will need BE 2.3 or later (link to thread) and Addon 2.3 or later (link to thread) to watch the replays.
Joining eskuche on his adventure through North Africa and finally start my second run of "Afrika Korps", modified by Locarnus for "Battlefield Europe + Addon".
No Field Marshal, only Rommel difficulty this time.
However I've thought again about some equipment limitations, BE+A is inviting you to try it. But I will not cry if I fail to follow them (or...maybe...
"rule of one"
...means you take only 1 individual unit per type into your core. E.g. only
1 Pz III
1 Pz IV
1 8.8 Flak
1 10.5cm leFH
1 Bf 109 series of fighters
1 MC series of fighters
etc.
What exactly means "only 1 unit per type" is, however, open for debate. Example, with the given efile, the StuG III B and E are infantry support units (tank in mode 1, short range 75mm artillery in mode 2) but the Stug III F, F/8 and G are tanks (no secondary mode). Would having a StuG III B and a StuG III G already break the rule? Or what about having a Pz IV F1 and a Pz IV H? The stat differences are quite significant between the two versions.
I won't be strict here and say "a StuG III B and G are 2 different units" for myself.
However:
- 10.5cm leFH with horse
- 10.5cm leFH with truck
---> are not 2 different units
But:
- 10.5cm leFH with horse
- 15cm NblWf with horse
---> are 2 different units
Meaning, I ignore organic transports, otherwise you would probably run out of units one way or another.
Replays:
Keep in mind you will need BE 2.3 or later (link to thread) and Addon 2.3 or later (link to thread) to watch the replays.