Page 1 of 1

Internal Overlaps

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2022 5:17 pm
by dave_r
One of my Knight BattleGroups in a single column was charged in the front by another knight BG and in the flank by a Light Horse Battlegroup - see below:

Image

Three bases were contacted by the Light Horse, so all turned to face, which left one base fighting the other knights in the original direction of facing.

Does the Enemy Knight Battle group at the bottom of the screen get six dice with an overlap on both sides? My argument was that the overlap on the right hand side was an internal overlap and so therefore couldn't be contacted.

Page 84 refers to overlaps. My belief is that the following:

"A battle group can only be overlapped by one file at each end of any of it's four edges, even if it is stepped forward"

Refers to this situation as the battle group only has four edges, with the edge on the right hand side not being eligible to provide an overlap.

Is that correct?

Re: Internal Overlaps

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2022 7:53 pm
by Caliph
I think Yes, it's an overlap.
If the LH were in contact with the flank of the base fighting the knights it wouldn't be.
The right hand edge of your BG extends all the way to the enemy knights even though the bases are facing in two directions.

Re: Internal Overlaps

Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2022 7:52 am
by philqw78
A photo would be useful to help prove you are wrong Dave. But you are calling an outside corner an internal corner completely incorrectly

A__K
AKKK
A_LL

'K' turned bases contacted by LH, 'L'. Somehow ending with one at the back.
A bit like the above. 'A' are knights that charged the column, 'K' knights facing left. 'L' are LH that charged into the flank of K. Dave says 'A's bottom overlap of 'K' is internal???? Even though the column was facing left and it would be an overlap if none of K turned after being charged in the flank

Re: Internal Overlaps

Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2022 11:37 am
by petedalby
I believe the overlap may be valid but I can see why you would argue the point.

The 2nd bullet on P84: "A base that is in contact with the front edge of enemy bases on more than one of its edges cannot be overlapped on the corner between two contacted edges." But that is not the case here. The front base is only in contact on one of its edges so can be overlapped.

But I think you'd need Terry to confirm or clarify.

Re: Internal Overlaps

Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2022 5:17 pm
by terrys
Pete is correct.

The 1st bullet on page 84 states that"a battle GROUP can be overlapped by one file at each end of its 4 EDGES - even if it is stepped forward.
In this case its right hand EDGE is overlapped on both ends - because neither end is excluded by bullet 2 - as quoted by Pete

Re: Internal Overlaps

Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2022 5:59 pm
by dave_r
terrys wrote: Thu Apr 07, 2022 5:17 pm Pete is correct.

The 1st bullet on page 84 states that"a battle GROUP can be overlapped by one file at each end of its 4 EDGES - even if it is stepped forward.
In this case its right hand EDGE is overlapped on both ends - because neither end is excluded by bullet 2 - as quoted by Pete
So if I'm understanding correctly, the Light Horse would fight with all four bases and the Knight Battle group would get four dice against the knights facing in two directions?

Re: Internal Overlaps

Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2022 6:09 pm
by terrys
No - I think there's a confusion in my explanation with regard to which BG I'm referring to and the consideration of whether the rule refers to 'battlegroup' or 'base'.

Basically the light horse would fight with 4 bases (2 dice) and the flank charge would fight with 3 bases (6 dice)

Re: Internal Overlaps

Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2022 8:24 pm
by grahambriggs
dave_r wrote: Thu Apr 07, 2022 5:59 pm
terrys wrote: Thu Apr 07, 2022 5:17 pm Pete is correct.

The 1st bullet on page 84 states that"a battle GROUP can be overlapped by one file at each end of its 4 EDGES - even if it is stepped forward.
In this case its right hand EDGE is overlapped on both ends - because neither end is excluded by bullet 2 - as quoted by Pete
So if I'm understanding correctly, the Light Horse would fight with all four bases and the Knight Battle group would get four dice against the knights facing in two directions?

The enemy knights would get 6 dice since they overlap the edge of your knights on both sides. If the situation were slightly different and the LH had their front edge in contact with the Kn base that started at the front of the column, then the enemy knights would not get that overlap and so would only have 4 dice. It's because the p84 wording refers to the base being in contact with the front edges of enemy on more that one edge, not the battle group.