Page 1 of 1
Charge path.
Posted: Mon Feb 08, 2021 8:07 pm
by tyronec
The spear unit can charge the light archers but not the crossbows.
Is this right ?
Am guessing they must be trying to take the path: diagonal left , forward
instead of the path: forward, diagonal left.
But usually the path they would take would be to advance one hex forward first, so they are going a different route because it is a charge move ?

- d.gif (245.27 KiB) Viewed 927 times
Found out I could get them to charge by moving one hex forwards first.
Re: Charge path.
Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2021 12:49 am
by CyberHetman
Probably crossbow is on rough terrain(I can't see exactly in the snow

). You don't have enough movement points to go there with a heavy foot (they need 3 more points to move in rough terrain diagonally).
Re: Charge path.
Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2021 3:02 am
by SnuggleBunnies
The default path is one tile diagonal and then one straight. However, if you move one diagonal, you end up in the primary zone of control of the Crossbowmen unit to the left, and can't charge the one on the right. Move manually straight ahead one tile, and then you will be in the primary ZoC of the right Crossbowmen, and should be able to charge.
Re: Charge path.
Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2021 10:17 am
by Hrafnagudh
If you click and hover on the crossed charge button I think it says exactly why you are not allowed to do it
Re: Charge path.
Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2021 10:38 am
by tyronec
If you click and hover on the crossed charge button I think it says exactly why you are not allowed to do it
This is clear to me now. They cannot charge because the default path is 'left and forward', as SnuggleBunnies has written.
What was confusing me is that the displayed move for this type of unit is 'forward and left'. Just something for new players to learn !
Re: Charge path.
Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2021 11:27 am
by Hrafnagudh
tyronec wrote: ↑Tue Feb 09, 2021 10:38 am
If you click and hover on the crossed charge button I think it says exactly why you are not allowed to do it
This is clear to me now. They cannot charge because the default path is 'left and forward', as SnuggleBunnies has written.
What was confusing me is that the displayed move for this type of unit is 'forward and left'. Just something for new players to learn !
Yes, this thread was really helpful, thanks for posting it

I find funny while playing that learning the rules sometimes feels like solving a puzzle

But still, I'm loving these rules
Re: Charge path.
Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2021 11:28 am
by Athos1660
Path for a simple move :
Path for a charge :

Re: Charge path.
Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2021 5:47 pm
by CyberHetman
It is also possible to charge along the same path as the movement - just move one grid forward and then charge.