Re: GJS'44 - D-Day - Battles announced for June 7th
Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 5:00 pm
Sorry I don't see these orders as relief but 'rather cover your bases'. (as evidenced by the fact that Ost/411/716 later moves to Cagny and is itself relieved?!).
"4.33 Relief Movements. A friendly BG can relieve a defending force by moving into a defended sector and then permitting the defender to exit."
"defending" being the operative term. The way it is worded above indicates that there is a force that is already actively defending. It is easy to see that we as the allies would interpret it this way. We didn't see it as a method to continually cover off a sector (which is what is being tried here).
I also assumed that a 'relief force' would be the only circumstance in which the Axis could temporarily assign 2 BG's to the same sector and technically solely for the purpose of relief. In this situation, it appears the Axis are bending the rule to constantly cover their bases…why wouldn't every move then be written as 'relief'.
I think the problem I have with this is that, again, it was assumed that 4.33 was strictly for the purpose of relieving an already beleaguered force not to create an rotating move so that there can now never be an element of surprise.
Rule 3.41 prevents any more than 1 Axis BG in a sector at any time (other than R sectors). However, using rule 4.33 can always circumvent this.
While we are on the subject, a 'relief' movement should technically be a BG swap. I've done reliefs in place…they are complicated moves…I would like to amend that rule to see the relieving BG and the relieved BG doing a sector swap and it should consume the entire move.
"4.33 Relief Movements. A friendly BG can relieve a defending force by moving into a defended sector and then permitting the defender to exit."
"defending" being the operative term. The way it is worded above indicates that there is a force that is already actively defending. It is easy to see that we as the allies would interpret it this way. We didn't see it as a method to continually cover off a sector (which is what is being tried here).
I also assumed that a 'relief force' would be the only circumstance in which the Axis could temporarily assign 2 BG's to the same sector and technically solely for the purpose of relief. In this situation, it appears the Axis are bending the rule to constantly cover their bases…why wouldn't every move then be written as 'relief'.
I think the problem I have with this is that, again, it was assumed that 4.33 was strictly for the purpose of relieving an already beleaguered force not to create an rotating move so that there can now never be an element of surprise.
Rule 3.41 prevents any more than 1 Axis BG in a sector at any time (other than R sectors). However, using rule 4.33 can always circumvent this.
While we are on the subject, a 'relief' movement should technically be a BG swap. I've done reliefs in place…they are complicated moves…I would like to amend that rule to see the relieving BG and the relieved BG doing a sector swap and it should consume the entire move.