Re: GJS'44 - D-Day - Awaiting German orders for June 7th
Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 1:10 pm
GM is processing both sides' orders for June 7th - No further changes will be accepted...
Forum
https://forum.slitherine.com/
Allies Protest illegal Axis move - Ost/411/716 cannot move to Caen while there is a unit in there (rule 3.41) so in essence Ost/642/716 must first move out of Caen to Carpiquet, my airborne would then deploy then Ost/411/716 would fight an AFD v. my Airborne in Caen...the Axis are not previously under attack and therefore cannot conduct a relief move (so rule 4.33 does not apply).GottaLove88s wrote:
CONFIRMED BATTLES (bonuses/penalties in brackets)
Gold: 9/3 (AMR) AFD v 857/346 (P-)
Caen*: 6al/6 (AMR+) ME v Ost/411/716 (P-)
Vimont: II/22/21Pz (AP) AFD v 3/6ab (MR)
Hillman Battery: 69/50 (NMR) AFD v II/726/716 (AMRP-)
Villers-Bocage: I/22/21Pz AFD (AP) v 5al/6 (MR)
-indicates battle fought under “out of supply” morale penalty
+airlanding (vs airborne) brigade will suffer minimal scattering with most units together and some opportunity for redeployment
*In Caen, an unexpected conflict arose between rules 4.33 and 7.45... In this situation, the defender appears to be "anticipating trouble" from the air, hence the ordered relief effort, and a subsequent potential reinforcement, so it is fair to assume that 6al/6 did not catch the Caen garrison in total surprise... Consequently, an ME is justified (rule 4.33 prevails).
COMMANDERS ORDERS AS RECEIVED
Allies won the dice throw
A1. 9/3 Deploys Gold (Arty, Medic, Rally)
G1. Ost/411/716 Moves to Caen (relieves Ost/642/716)
A2. 6al/6 Deploys Caen (Arty, always has Medic, Rally)
G2. Ost/642/716 Moves to Carpiquet
This isn't technically a relieve movement, and maybe this should be covered in the rule book to only refer to defending BGs in a battle fought in the previous day. In this case only 857/346 could have been relieved under rule 4.33. Maybe that needs updating. Also, maybe a 4.34 rule should say that 7.45/7/46 beats 4.33/4.32.*In Caen, an unexpected conflict arose between rules 4.33 and 7.45... In this situation, the defender appears to be "anticipating trouble" from the air, hence the ordered relief effort, and a subsequent potential reinforcement, so it is fair to assume that 6al/6 did not catch the Caen garrison in total surprise... Consequently, an ME is justified (rule 4.33 prevails).
4.31 A BG that moves into a sector which an enemy BG is passing through or departing will fight an Attack vs Surprised Defence (ASD).
4.32 A BG that moves into a sector on the same day as an enemy BG will fight a Meeting Engagement (ME) battle.
4.33 Relief Movements. A friendly BG can relieve a defending force by moving into a defended sector and then permitting the defender to exit. For a relief to be successful, both the entry and the exit movements must be completed before an enemy attacks. If the relief is successful, subsequent attacks will take place as an Attack vs a Fortified Defence (AFD), as if the defender had already been in position. However, if an enemy attacks before the relieving force can enter, the current defender will face an Attack vs Surprised Defence (ASD). If an enemy attacks after the relieving force has entered but before the current defender has departed, the new defender will face a Meeting Engagement (ME).
7.45 Paradrops - When airborne commandos parachute into territory and encounter an enemy BG, they will fight an Attack vs Surprised Defence (ASD) enjoying 25 units to attack 20 defenders. The GM will scatter the attacking troops around the sector, to simulate an initial lack of cohesion on landing. In GJS'44, 5al/6 and 6al/6 are considered "air landing" brigades rather than truly "airborne", and will suffer significantly less scattering because they arrive by glider.
Am considering the rules and circumstances. Will come back to you...Brummbar44 wrote:Allies Protest illegal Axis move - Ost/411/716 cannot move to Caen while there is a unit in there (rule 3.41) so in essence Ost/642/716 must first move out of Caen to Carpiquet, my airborne would then deploy then Ost/411/716 would fight an AFD v. my Airborne in Caen...the Axis are not previously under attack and therefore cannot conduct a relief move (so rule 4.33 does not apply).
Brummbar & KingT in particular... Quite aside from reviewing the background above, before jumping up to shout "Objection!"...http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/relief?s=t wrote:
re·lief1 [ri-leef] noun
1.alleviation, ease, or deliverance through the removal of pain, distress, oppression, etc.
2.a means or thing that relieves pain, distress, anxiety, etc.
3.money, food, or other help given to those in poverty or need.
4.something affording a pleasing change, as from monotony.
5.release from a post of duty, as by the arrival of a substitute or replacement.
GJS'44 Rules & Regs wrote: 4.33 Relief Movements. A friendly BG can relieve a defending force by moving into a defended sector and then permitting the defender to exit. For a relief to be successful, both the entry and the exit movements must be completed before an enemy attacks. If the relief is successful, subsequent attacks will take place as an Attack vs a Fortified Defence (AFD), as if the defender had already been in position. However, if an enemy attacks before the relieving force can enter, the current defender will face an Attack vs Surprised Defence (ASD). If an enemy attacks after the relieving force has entered but before the current defender has departed, the new defender will face a Meeting Engagement (ME).
7.45 Paradrops - When airborne commandos parachute into territory and encounter an enemy BG, they will fight an Attack vs Surprised Defence (ASD) enjoying 25 units to attack 20 defenders. The GM will scatter the attacking troops around the sector, to simulate an initial lack of cohesion on landing. In GJS'44, 5al/6 and 6al/6 are considered "air landing" brigades rather than truly "airborne", and will suffer significantly less scattering because they arrive by glider.
10.1 Sadly, we GMs are only human (honest Guv! ). Consequently, we reserve the right to make improvements and fixes as the GJS'44 Campaign progresses. All such changes will be documented in the Rules & Regulations.
10.2 Feedback and proposals to enhance the Campaign are welcome. They are especially welcome between turns and less so during battle phases, for example because your feedback relates to a decision to charge four Shermans at a bunker which was discovered to have an 88 in it!
10.3 GM's decisions are final.
It should, that's actually why it was created, to replicate a situation in real combat. Otherwise from now on we'll have a lot of such-fake relieve movements between BGs. Because of two, now rule 3.41 is obsolete. We'll be able to replicate a lot of relieve movements in future days to have two BGs in sectors that allow only one.GottaLove88s wrote:Ok guys, Here's my decision and rationale...
1. There's nothing in 4.33 or in the sentiment of being a relief force that says that a Commander cannot relieve a garrison before it has actually come under fire. Rule 4.33 stands.
2. Relief movement is designed to permit a BG to take control of a friendly sector while another BG is in place, without ever leaving the sector empty, which would obviously be foolish. Rule 4.33 stands.
Well the enemy commander choose the easier/more logical way to move those BGs, and because of that we're now into a fake 4.33 situation. If 4.33 wasn't there, there would still have been a conflict with previous rules. But 7.45 is the stronger one.3. In this circumstance, the enemy commander could have structured his orders to take Ost/411/716 through Caen to Carpiquet, but he chose to "relieve" Caen instead. If Ost/411/716 had merely passed through, I would agree that Ost/642/716 had been surprised. Rule 4.33 stands.
Yes, I don't think it matters how strong the BGs are. Yes we are at disadvantage, no matter how strong the defender, the fact still remains we're attacking with Paras. ASD does count especially on June 7.http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/relief?s=t wrote:
re·lief1 [ri-leef] noun
1.alleviation, ease, or deliverance through the removal of pain, distress, oppression, etc.
2.a means or thing that relieves pain, distress, anxiety, etc.
3.money, food, or other help given to those in poverty or need.
4.something affording a pleasing change, as from monotony.
5.release from a post of duty, as by the arrival of a substitute or replacement.
Brummbar & KingT in particular... Quite aside from reviewing the background above, before jumping up to shout "Objection!"...
4. Have you looked at the OOB for 411/716 and 642/716. They're identical. You're not being put at any unit disadvantage here, only the difference between an ASD vs an ME... and, frankly, your opponent had to tie up 2 BGs in one sector at exactly the right point in the turn processing to achieve that (not easy to do)
5. Have you considered the implication of me agreeing with you that you're right... That would mean that 6al/6 would fight an ASD vs 642/716... and then fight an ME vs 411/716 (both BGs arriving same turn)... and potentially then fight an ME vs 125/21Pz... That, to me, sounds like a good way to significantly wound a para BG, even if you won the first two battles... If you keep arguing, I might just decide to agree with you!![]()
GJS'44 Rules & Regs wrote: But, for now, Rule 4.33 stands (and so does 10.3).![]()
4.33 Relief Movements. A friendly BG can relieve a defending force by moving into a defended sector and then permitting the defender to exit. For a relief to be successful, both the entry and the exit movements must be completed before an enemy attacks. If the relief is successful, subsequent attacks will take place as an Attack vs a Fortified Defence (AFD), as if the defender had already been in position. However, if an enemy attacks before the relieving force can enter, the current defender will face an Attack vs Surprised Defence (ASD). If an enemy attacks after the relieving force has entered but before the current defender has departed, the new defender will face a Meeting Engagement (ME).
7.45 Paradrops - When airborne commandos parachute into territory and encounter an enemy BG, they will fight an Attack vs Surprised Defence (ASD) enjoying 25 units to attack 20 defenders. The GM will scatter the attacking troops around the sector, to simulate an initial lack of cohesion on landing. In GJS'44, 5al/6 and 6al/6 are considered "air landing" brigades rather than truly "airborne", and will suffer significantly less scattering because they arrive by glider.
10.1 Sadly, we GMs are only human (honest Guv! ). Consequently, we reserve the right to make improvements and fixes as the GJS'44 Campaign progresses. All such changes will be documented in the Rules & Regulations.
10.2 Feedback and proposals to enhance the Campaign are welcome. They are especially welcome between turns and less so during battle phases, for example because your feedback relates to a decision to charge four Shermans at a bunker which was discovered to have an 88 in it!
10.3 GM's decisions are final.
Here's one more error. Because 857/346 is moving today, they will not defend Gold AFD (it doesn't really matters because they're heavily depleted) but it matters because of the following rules:GottaLove88s wrote:
CONFIRMED BATTLES (bonuses/penalties in brackets)
Gold: 9/3 (AMR) AFD v 857/346 (P-)
Caen*: 6al/6 (AMR+) ME v Ost/411/716 (P-)
Vimont: II/22/21Pz (AP) AFD v 3/6ab (MR)
Hillman Battery: 69/50 (NMR) AFD v II/726/716 (AMRP-)
Villers-Bocage: I/22/21Pz AFD (AP) v 5al/6 (MR)
-indicates battle fought under “out of supply” morale penalty
+airlanding (vs airborne) brigade will suffer minimal scattering with most units together and some opportunity for redeployment
*In Caen, an unexpected conflict arose between rules 4.33 and 7.45... In this situation, the defender appears to be "anticipating trouble" from the air, hence the ordered relief effort, and a subsequent potential reinforcement, so it is fair to assume that 6al/6 did not catch the Caen garrison in total surprise... Consequently, an ME is justified (rule 4.33 prevails).
POTENTIAL SUBSEQUENT BATTLES (pending first results)
125/21Pz in Vimont or Caen
3/6ab (MR) in Vimont
6al/6 (AMR) in Caen
7/3cdn (N) in Hillman Battery
II/726/716 (AMRP-) in Hillman Battery
192/21Pz in Villers-Bocage
5al/6 (MR) in Villers-Bocage
8/3 in Gold
COMMANDERS ORDERS AS RECEIVED
Allies won the dice throw
A1. 9/3 Deploys Gold (Arty, Medic, Rally)
G1. Ost/411/716 Moves to Caen (relieves Ost/642/716)
A2. 6al/6 Deploys Caen (Arty, always has Medic, Rally)
G2. Ost/642/716 Moves to Carpiquet
A3. 151/50 Deploys Sword
G3. II/22/21Pz Deploys Vimont, Moves to Orne Bridge, Moves to Hill 112 (Arty)
A4. 8/3cdn Deploys Juno
G4. 125/21Pz Deploys Vimont, Moves to Tilly la Campagne, Moves to Caen (relieves Ost/411/716)
A5. 69/50 Attack/Not Move Hillman Battery (Naval Arty, Medic, Rally)
G5. Ost 411/716 Moves to Cagny
A6. 7/3cdn Moves Hillman Battery (Naval Arty)
G6. I/736/716 Moves to Buron
A7. 5al/6 Defends Villers-Bocage
G7. II/736/716 Moves to Buron (merges with I/736/716)
A8. 3/6ab Defends Vimont
G8. 857/346 Moves to Vaux sue Aure, Moves to Thaon
A9. 8/3 Moves to Juno, Moves to Courseulles
G9. I/22/21Pz Deploys Villers-Bocage, Moves Juvigny, Moves Tilly sur Seulles (Arty)
G10. 192/21Pz Deploys Villers-Bocage, Moves Cristot, Moves Carpiquet (relieves Ost/642/716)
G11. Ost/642/716 Moves to Lebisey Woods
G12. II/726/716 Defends Hillman Battery (Arty, Medic, Rally)
G13. 858/346 Defends Ouistreham (Arty, Medic, Rally)
G14. 915/352 Defends Merville/Franceville
G15. 914/352 Defends Pegasus Bridge
G16. II/744/711 Defends Bayeux
So that means 9/3 fights ASD against 857/346 therefore having a +5 units advantage.4.31 A BG that moves into a sector which an enemy BG is passing through or departing will fight an Attack vs Surprised Defence (ASD).
7.43 Attack vs Surprised Defence (ASD) - where an attacking BG moves into a sector that a defender is either passing through, or is attempting to depart, the attacker can select max.25 units, the defender can select max.20 units. Attacker deploys into the first 10 rows of a 40x40 map, defender deploys into back 20 rows. Attacker begins with 1 HQ flag. Defender starts with 3 rearmost flags. There is 1 neutral flag between the opposing forces (5 VP flags on the map). Defenders will be punished if they permit themselves to be surprised. )
I agree we all have lives and day jobs, but then why make the rules so complex if we're not going to stick by them? The rules, whatever they are, have a purpose in this simulation that we're playing. They replicate the errors that appear during the tactical phase of the battle, and the errors commanders make. Because the war isn't won just by the soldiers in each BG, otherwise let's just fight battle the battles.GottaLove88s wrote:Brummbar/KingT,
Because we all have lives and day jobs, I'm enthusiastic that GJS'44 does not degenerate into regular challenges of rules if they're unfavourable...
My reading is that 6al/6 should get an ME v 411/716 (as per rationale above)... However, you both strongly feel otherwise...
Consequently, if Leci agrees with you before both of you withdraw your objections, then 6al/6 will get an ASD v 642/716, followed by an ME v 411/716 (if 642/716 does not win), with any subsequent battle with 125/21Pz to be determined by the first battle in Vimont.
Leci, the ball is in your court? Allies say that 6al/6 surprised you. Do you agree?
Brummbar & KingT, Do both of you withdraw your objection?
I will confirm whoever is first to repost...
KingT, with respect, I wrote the rules, so I know what I intended more than you do. There should always be 2 BGs in a sector when it is relieved otherwise it would be down to pure dumb luck whether an attacker came in at the particular instant that it was empty. That was not my intention, and neither side should benefit from it.kingt wrote:It should, that's actually why it was created, to replicate a situation in real combat. Otherwise from now on we'll have a lot of such-fake relieve movements between BGs. Because of two, now rule 3.41 is obsolete. We'll be able to replicate a lot of relieve movements in future days to have two BGs in sectors that allow only one.GottaLove88s wrote:Ok guys, Here's my decision and rationale...
1. There's nothing in 4.33 or in the sentiment of being a relief force that says that a Commander cannot relieve a garrison before it has actually come under fire. Rule 4.33 stands.
2. Relief movement is designed to permit a BG to take control of a friendly sector while another BG is in place, without ever leaving the sector empty, which would obviously be foolish. Rule 4.33 stands.
So, in addition to knowing exactly what was in my head when I wrote the rules, you're also claiming to know exactly what the enemy commander was thinking when he wrote his orders?kingt wrote:Well the enemy commander choose the easier/more logical way to move those BGs, and because of that we're now into a fake 4.33 situation. If 4.33 wasn't there, there would still have been a conflict with previous rules. But 7.45 is the stronger one.GottaLove88s wrote:3. In this circumstance, the enemy commander could have structured his orders to take Ost/411/716 through Caen to Carpiquet, but he chose to "relieve" Caen instead. If Ost/411/716 had merely passed through, I would agree that Ost/642/716 had been surprised. Rule 4.33 stands.
And I assume you're also going to do a trawl of multiple dictionary sites until you find one that cites that a military force can only be relieved when it is under actual attack?http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/relief?s=t wrote: re·lief1 [ri-leef] noun
release from a post of duty, as by the arrival of a substitute or replacement.
Since you're being blunt, I should respond...kingt wrote:This isn't a way to communicate your decisions, my way or the highway. Yes, let's fight up to three battles on Caen.GottaLove88s wrote:5. Have you considered the implication of me agreeing with you that you're right... That would mean that 6al/6 would fight an ASD vs 642/716... and then fight an ME vs 411/716 (both BGs arriving same turn)... and potentially then fight an ME vs 125/21Pz... That, to me, sounds like a good way to significantly wound a para BG, even if you won the first two battles... If you keep arguing, I might just decide to agree with you!