Page 2 of 3

Re: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee

Posted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 5:04 pm
by dave_r
philqw78 wrote:I can take being beaten by Dave's lucky dice, but to be beaten by his rules logic, I'm crushed.
:)

That would be my lucky dice that had me at plus with seven dice against three, with me losing. Twice.

Re: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee

Posted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 5:13 pm
by dave_r
rbodleyscott wrote:
dave_r wrote:All I've got to say is

Ner ner ner ner, ne ner nerrr.
Shouldn't that be "ner ner ne ner nerr" ?
Either works :)

Re: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee

Posted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 7:14 pm
by navigator
Interesting.. so the heading needs changing in the rules to say 'expanding when in melee'... rather than the helpful title that explains the rules abut expanding into an existing melee. As the example given is clearly not expanding into an existing melee. i'm with Phil on this!

Re: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee

Posted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 7:44 pm
by petedalby
'Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee' is the section title - not the detail of the rules on how to do this.

I am delighted to see a contribution from one of the original authors that supports how many of us play it.

Re: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee

Posted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 10:02 pm
by philqw78
I'm not

Re: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee

Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 9:21 am
by rbodleyscott
philqw78 wrote:I'm not
Well you invited (nay demanded) it.

Re: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee

Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:54 am
by philqw78
I'll have to be more careful what I wish for in future then :(

Re: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee

Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 1:40 pm
by Robert241167
Especially with Christmas approaching........................ :lol:

Rob

Re: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee

Posted: Sat Dec 06, 2014 12:15 pm
by lawrenceg
Can you feed in a base without expanding or contracting, e.g. moving a second rank base from where it isn't fighting to where it is fighting?

Re: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee

Posted: Sat Dec 06, 2014 3:12 pm
by petedalby
Can you feed in a base without expanding or contracting, e.g. moving a second rank base from where it isn't fighting to where it is fighting?
Yes - page 79 last bullet left hand side

Re: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee

Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2014 3:22 am
by awesum4
This is cool for those of us using large blocks of undrilled foot. Can maneuver in narrow frontage, then once in combat expand out without needing to pass CMTs. May have to use even more 12 element Defensive spear/light foot units in my Abbasids.

Re: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee

Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 2:25 am
by lawrenceg
Do you have to end in a legal formation after you feed into melee?

We had a 6-base column charging through a gap between two other BGs. There was only room to expand 1 base.

Re: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee

Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 9:53 am
by philqw78
lawrenceg wrote:Do you have to end in a legal formation after you feed into melee?

We had a 6-base column charging through a gap between two other BGs. There was only room to expand 1 base.
Apparently yes

Re: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee

Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 12:35 pm
by lawrenceg
What about a BG facing in 2 directions as a result of a flank charge and not reforming? Can it never feed in more bases because it will generally never end in a legal formation?

Re: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee

Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 1:07 pm
by grahambriggs
If a unit is not in a "regular" formation it can expand out I believe (from memory; no rule book with me) but if you start in a "regular" formation you must end up in one to expand out.

Re: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee

Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 1:57 pm
by dave_r
lawrenceg wrote:What about a BG facing in 2 directions as a result of a flank charge and not reforming? Can it never feed in more bases because it will generally never end in a legal formation?
Facing in two directions is included as a legal formation

Re: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee

Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 6:56 pm
by petedalby
The relevant pages are 23 for formations and 79 for feeding more bases - top bullet, right hand side - 'normal formations rules apply'.

I can't see any reason at all why a BG fighting enemy in 2 directions cannot feed more bases into a melee Lawrence.

Re: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee

Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 10:04 pm
by lawrenceg
OK, thanks.

Re: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee

Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 10:34 pm
by mceochaidh
A BG of 6 bases of CV is in melee with enemy CV BG of 6 bases, both in 2 ranks, so 3 bases opposed to 3 bases. Enemy charged in impact phase. In enemy manoeuvre phase, enemy moves up a BG of LF to fight as overlap. Melee combat causes no base removal. In the next friendly manoeuvere phase, good guys see LF and move 2 back rank bases of CV to fight LF. Is this legal in that the bases moved were already counted for die rolls in previous melee? The diagram in the "Field of Glory V2 Ancients - UK Umpire Classifications", under "Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee" seems to suggest that this is acceptable. If so, is it due to the fact that the back rank bases, although counted for melee, were not "in contact" with enemy?

Mac

Re: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee

Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 10:44 pm
by philqw78
They were fighting as they were adding dice so cannot