Page 2 of 2

Posted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 10:47 pm
by gozerius
What about the part that they do not test if all enemy in range are skirmishers?

Posted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 8:20 am
by dave_r
They have already tested - they don't test if they would have to burst through friends and the only enemy in range are skirmishers.

As Roger has said - this was after the tests have been taken.

Posted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 9:48 am
by david53
I understand and accept what Roger has said.

So if two BG's charge and the enemy evades and a BG moves after them and swings in the way of the second BG that BG can't drop bases to get past.

Do I have that correct then.

Posted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:24 am
by lawrenceg
Note that the compulsion to burst through is governed by:

"... the following rules apply if they could not contact the enemy without passing through friends, even by wheeling and/or dropping back bases."

It's not obvious what happens if they cannot contact enemy at all.

However, if you can contact the enemy without passing through friends by wheeling or dropping back bases, then the "no need to test" and "bursting through" rules don't apply- so you can wheel or drop back bases.

Also note that it is

"they do not test (and will not charge) if the friends are shock troops..."

Not simply "do not test". One could put forward case that "(and will not charge)" applies regardless of whether or not they have taken a test.

Posted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 9:44 pm
by JanChris
lawrenceg wrote: "they do not test (and will not charge) if the friends are shock troops..."

Not simply "do not test". One could put forward case that "(and will not charge)" applies regardless of whether or not they have taken a test.
I like this interpretation but I think the last bullet overrides it: If they fail the test they must charge through the friends.