charging from behind PO's

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

grahambriggs
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3073
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am

Post by grahambriggs »

dave_r wrote:Right, so what we are saying is that if i want to charge i am shock troops and if i dont i have missile troops in the front rank. ;)

Is there a precedent with the blood and gold lads who are impact foot and javelins? I am fairly sure they have to charge.
It is only Non-shock medium foot whose front rank has bow, longbow, crossbow or firearm that have to test to charge. Javelin doesn't stop you

If you mix up the front rank I supect the following happens:

First (because of the detailed turn sequence), if you want to charge, you must take a CMT "Non-shock medium foot whose front rank has bow, longbow, crossbow or firearm must pass a CMT to charge"

Then, if you've failed your CMT to charge, or don't want to charge, you need to take a CMT. "shock troops who have not declared a charge need to pass a complex move test".

So if you pass the first CMT (if you take it) or fail the second one, you'll charge. And it doesn't matter if you have PD or not.

If only I'd spotted this when we did Blood and Gold, I'd have insisted on some of these in North American lists, with a special note that they had to have a mixed front rank, to represent the "contrary societies" :twisted:
petedalby
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3115
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:23 pm
Location: Fareham, UK

Post by petedalby »

Mixed BGs of shock and non-shock foot are not mentioned specifically.
I got this wrong. :oops:

It is covered on page 59 - 2nd bullet point.
Pete
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”