Situation:
       
AAAA  
AAAA
.........BBBB
.........BBBB
Group B is 2" back from the front of group A and an enemy battlegroup charges A hitting just its' rightmost base.  Can group B intercept?  If so Where does the combat occur as the opposing battlegroup starts 4" away from Group A.
			
			
									
						
										
						Interception
Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators
Re: Interception
It depends mainly on if B is foot or mounted and slightly on how deep the enemy formation ishuwpy wrote:Situation:
AAAA
AAAA
.........BBBB
.........BBBB
Group B is 2" back from the front of group A and an enemy battlegroup charges A hitting just its' rightmost base. Can group B intercept? If so Where does the combat occur as the opposing battlegroup starts 4" away from Group A.
I am assuming everyone is facing up the screen BTW
If B is mounted, the enemy are charging through the ZOI of B so B can intercept. B moves forward up to 4 MU and then the enemy move. This might prevent enemy contacting A if the enemy formation is unable to step forward into contact.
If B is foot and is exactly 2 MU behind A then I am not sure as it is debatable if the enemy are moving through the ZOI (which only extends to the exact front of A). If I was umpiring based on the rules at present I would say B could not intercept if it was foot. If B was slightly less than 2 MU back it could intercept.
Another point is that if the enemy formation is deep enough it would have to step forward into B anyway.
Hope that doesn't confuse too much
Hammy
The 2MU distance in this instance is a problem for the following reasons:
1) If the charging enemy is more than 2MUs deep (e.g. 2 ranks of cavalry) then they'd also have to declare the charge on BBBB as well - due to the 'stepping forwards' rule. This would cancel any attempt to intercept.
2) Because the intercept move is only 2MUs (assuming they're infantry) then their intercept move does not actually 'cross the path' of the chargers - they only reach the path. This again means that they can't intercept. Basically to intercept they must end their move closer to the chargers than the charged BG was at the start of the move.
There would be no problem if they were slightly less than 2Mus behind AAAA
The combat would then be fought with BBBB 2MUs forwards, with the charging BG having the option to step forwards into AAAA.
			
			
									
						
										
						1) If the charging enemy is more than 2MUs deep (e.g. 2 ranks of cavalry) then they'd also have to declare the charge on BBBB as well - due to the 'stepping forwards' rule. This would cancel any attempt to intercept.
2) Because the intercept move is only 2MUs (assuming they're infantry) then their intercept move does not actually 'cross the path' of the chargers - they only reach the path. This again means that they can't intercept. Basically to intercept they must end their move closer to the chargers than the charged BG was at the start of the move.
There would be no problem if they were slightly less than 2Mus behind AAAA
The combat would then be fought with BBBB 2MUs forwards, with the charging BG having the option to step forwards into AAAA.
- 
				hazelbark
- General - Carrier 
- Posts: 4957
- Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
- Location: Capital of the World !!
This reminds of the old is dbx at 40mm is in or out discussion. Probably need to put this clarification on the website.terrys wrote:The 2MU distance in this instance is a problem for the following reasons:
2) Because the intercept move is only 2MUs (assuming they're infantry) then their intercept move does not actually 'cross the path' of the chargers - they only reach the path. This again means that they can't intercept. Basically to intercept they must end their move closer to the chargers than the charged BG was at the start of the move.
 I also need to go read the stepping forward stuff again, because I think I have that all wrong in charges and charge targets.
 I also need to go read the stepping forward stuff again, because I think I have that all wrong in charges and charge targets. 
					 
					

