Can Light foot move in as an overlap during movement?

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
smaul1
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 3:06 pm
Location: Fargo, ND
Contact:

Can Light foot move in as an overlap during movement?

Post by smaul1 »

playing our 2nd game last night we had a situation where 2 Heavy cavalry had hit each other during the impact phase, and then adjusted at the beginning of the maneuver phase.

my opponent then moved some light foot next to his cavalry during his movement as an overlap.

we check the rules and it only seemed to state a CMT was needed if it was to charge or hold on a charge from non skirmish. and also I read last night that to move into an overlap does not require a CMT

It also seemed logical that historically the light foot could have come over on the "flanks" and been picking at the cavalry while their own cavalry clashed with them and kept them busy.

anyway, I think we did it right by allowing it but if the we missed it in the rules could someone let us know where? Thoughts?

thanks

Steve
nikgaukroger
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 10287
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
Location: LarryWorld

Post by nikgaukroger »

They can move to an overlap without a CMT.
Nik Gaukroger

"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith

nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
smaul1
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 3:06 pm
Location: Fargo, ND
Contact:

Post by smaul1 »

Ok, that is what we thought but we wanted to make sure, thanks
david53
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Posts: 2859
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 9:01 pm
Location: Manchester

Post by david53 »

smaul1 wrote:Ok, that is what we thought but we wanted to make sure, thanks

But they would only get one dice at whatever POA that the troops they were fighting against I would recon it would be hitting on 5's against proper troops if the lights were unprotected.
smaul1
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 3:06 pm
Location: Fargo, ND
Contact:

Post by smaul1 »

yep, they only got 1 die, but every die helps. :)
gozerius
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1117
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 12:32 am

Post by gozerius »

Until the enemy BG feeds more bases in and locks the LF in melee. Then they can't evade when charged. Pick your victims carefully.
Thracians
Classical Indians
Medieval
-Germans (many flavors), Danes, Low Countries
Burgundians
In progress - Later Hungarians, Grand Moravians
petedalby
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3111
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:23 pm
Location: Fareham, UK

Post by petedalby »

Until the enemy BG feeds more bases in and locks the LF in melee. Then they can't evade when charged. Pick your victims carefully.
Not true.

See page 64
Pete
hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy »

petedalby wrote:
Until the enemy BG feeds more bases in and locks the LF in melee. Then they can't evade when charged. Pick your victims carefully.
Not true.

See page 64
I am not sure what you are saying here Pete. P64 is about being charged not having extra bases fed in to match an overlap.

If you move a BG of skirmishers into an overlap possition and the other player has spare bases then in their next movement phase they can 'feed in' those bases and it is not a charge so no evade is possible.

If another BG charges the skirmishers in the overlap possition then yes, they can evade but that is a different issue and is what P64 is talking about.
petedalby
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3111
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:23 pm
Location: Fareham, UK

Post by petedalby »

All the points you make are spot on Hammy - but in the example it was 2 Cav vs 2 Cav - how could additional bases be fed in?

I focussed on the 'then they can't evade when charged' - but yes, of course, anyone in melee can't evade.
Pete
pease1
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 7:59 pm
Contact:

Post by pease1 »

How come they only get one die? Don't they fight two ranks deep?
See what I'm painting and playing on my wargaming blog: http://ajs-wargaming.blogspot.com/
smaul1
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 3:06 pm
Location: Fargo, ND
Contact:

Post by smaul1 »

they loose 1 out of 2 dice since they are not fighting LF.
pease1
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 7:59 pm
Contact:

Post by pease1 »

smaul1 wrote:they loose 1 out of 2 dice since they are not fighting LF.
Holy crapola Batman!

Learn something new every day. I didn't realize you lose 1 per 2 for not fighting LF. That definitely changes things! I think we've been playing that one wrong.
See what I'm painting and playing on my wargaming blog: http://ajs-wargaming.blogspot.com/
smaul1
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 3:06 pm
Location: Fargo, ND
Contact:

Post by smaul1 »

yeah, it is listed where it shows LH loose 1 out of 2 dice unless fighting LH or LF and LF loose 1 out of 2 dice unless fighting LF.
ottomanmjm
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 4:25 am

Post by ottomanmjm »

smaul1 wrote:yeah, it is listed where it shows LH loose 1 out of 2 dice unless fighting LH or LF and LF loose 1 out of 2 dice unless fighting LF.
Unless they are fighting Fragmented enemy when they get their full complement of dice :)
expendablecinc
2nd Lieutenant - Elite Panzer IVF/2
2nd Lieutenant - Elite Panzer IVF/2
Posts: 705
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:55 pm

Post by expendablecinc »

ottomanmjm wrote:
smaul1 wrote:yeah, it is listed where it shows LH loose 1 out of 2 dice unless fighting LH or LF and LF loose 1 out of 2 dice unless fighting LF.
Unless they are fighting Fragmented enemy when they get their full complement of dice :)
I got in to trouble recently when I allowed LH to fight my LF in difficult going. Sure he lost 1/2 dice due to being severely disordered but I thought I'd get my full 2 dice but its only vs fragged not SevDisordered so it was even dice with me being poor.
deadtorius
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Posts: 5287
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:41 am

Post by deadtorius »

oops on that one :oops:
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”