Forming Orb

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
ethan
Lieutenant Colonel - Panther D
Lieutenant Colonel - Panther D
Posts: 1284
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 9:40 pm

Forming Orb

Post by ethan »

Can you form orb in a ZOC?
gozerius
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1117
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 12:32 am

Post by gozerius »

Based on previous discussions, yes.
Benvartok
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 4:59 am

Post by Benvartok »

Yes and no. You can assuming you are in certain formation. From what I understand in the FAQ you are not able to contract in a ZOC and so cannot form ORB if this would require you to contract.
madaxeman
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3002
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 5:15 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Post by madaxeman »

Benvartok wrote:Yes and no. You can assuming you are in certain formation. From what I understand in the FAQ you are not able to contract in a ZOC and so cannot form ORB if this would require you to contract.
You can't contract and remain in place. You can contract in a move which leaves you further away. But I doubt you can move into orb :-)
http://www.madaxeman.com
Holiday in Devon? Try https://www.thecaptainscottagebrixham.com
dave_r
General - King Tiger
General - King Tiger
Posts: 3861
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 3:58 pm

Post by dave_r »

You could always form Orb and then move 1 MU towards the enemy...
hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy »

dave_r wrote:You could always form Orb and then move 1 MU towards the enemy...
But you can't contract and advance when you are in the restricted area.

You can 'advance' but that means make a move from the advances section.

Personally I think you should be able to from orb when you are in a restricted area but I am not sure if the exact wording of the rules allows it.
nikgaukroger
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 10287
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
Location: LarryWorld

Post by nikgaukroger »

hammy wrote:
But you can't contract and advance when you are in the restricted area.

You can 'advance' but that means make a move from the advances section.

As has been said often this is what we undertsand is the intention, however, the rules can quite legitimately be read in an alternative manner.
Nik Gaukroger

"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith

nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
Scrumpy
Colonel - Fallschirmjäger
Colonel - Fallschirmjäger
Posts: 1423
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 7:27 pm
Location: NoVa

Post by Scrumpy »

The problem was my unit of spear were surrounded on all 4 sides by chariots & foot, so I thought forming orb was the only solution, sadly it appears not.
marioslaz
Captain - Bf 110D
Captain - Bf 110D
Posts: 870
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 4:11 pm
Location: San Lazzaro (BO) Italy

Post by marioslaz »

Scrumpy wrote:The problem was my unit of spear were surrounded on all 4 sides by chariots & foot, so I thought forming orb was the only solution, sadly it appears not.
In a such situation orb is not a solution. A prayer is the only solution possible :D
Mario Vitale
madaxeman
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3002
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 5:15 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Post by madaxeman »

dave_r wrote:You could always form Orb and then move 1 MU towards the enemy...
or away from them...?
http://www.madaxeman.com
Holiday in Devon? Try https://www.thecaptainscottagebrixham.com
hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy »

madaxeman wrote:
dave_r wrote:You could always form Orb and then move 1 MU towards the enemy...
or away from them...?
Now that would be OK ;)
pbrandon
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 1:08 pm

Post by pbrandon »

Quote from Si from thread viewtopic.php?t=11900&start=20

"Rules don't cover that directly, but the principle in mind was a maximum of 2 wide so I would guess all 3 authors would allow it. FWIW I would as clearly in the spirit of the rules. Doubt we really considered a 1 wide 2 deep foramtion. I wouldn't want columns forming orb though so therein lies the trick I suppose.

FWIW if I were to pick a fuller wording to cover this unusual one it would be:

Orb can be formed from a formation 2 bases wide, or 1 base width if only 2 bases deep (and therefore a fighting formation and not a column). A contraction can be included in the move if outside a restricted area.

Not keen to clog up FAQs and rulebooks with too much about orbs.

Si"

Paul
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”