Search found 524 matches
- Fri Jun 18, 2010 11:37 am
- Forum: Egypt - Engineering an Empire
- Topic: Crash in the Demo
- Replies: 0
- Views: 4807
Crash in the Demo
I am getting a crash to desktop in the demo. It is occurring when I click on a city to enter it. It only happens on one city, and only in one game. Looking at the city I notice that I have no town hall - there is a blacksmith in the first slot instead. I didn't sell the town hall, but I probably did...
- Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:31 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: Hit in flank and rear
- Replies: 11
- Views: 2635
The knights would at the start of the movement phase have the option to reform to face either M or C and also expand a base to fight against the overlap base from BG C. No - a BG fighting in multiple directions can't reform. (p70 RHS 2nd bullet point) They can though turn to face and expand/move in...
- Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:14 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: Routing in Impact phase
- Replies: 120
- Views: 17283
If you count each charge completely individually all will go left from 3's charge and all will fragment No - because B is still being charged by 2 so will split the angle. Not if each charge is actioned individually, you are combining two charges there. Each charge is actioned one at a time, but no...
- Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:06 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: Routing in Impact phase
- Replies: 120
- Views: 17283
It depnds in what order you play charges and evades. If you do each charge and all its reactions in turn then B would become a target, because 3 is moved before 1 and 2 and before reaction to their charges. This is why IMO all evades are moved before all charges. Then 3's VMD would make no differen...
- Thu Sep 24, 2009 1:41 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: Routing in Impact phase
- Replies: 120
- Views: 17283
- Thu Sep 24, 2009 1:35 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: Routing in Impact phase
- Replies: 120
- Views: 17283
Hence, if you do the charge evade as per marioslaz suggestion - C will evade and burst through both B and A (Disrupting both) - C will make it's charge and hit B - B will then evade and burst through A (Fragmenting A) - C will then continue it's charge and hit A - A will make a test for being charg...
- Thu Sep 24, 2009 1:02 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: Hit in flank and rear
- Replies: 11
- Views: 2635
- Thu Sep 10, 2009 7:53 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: Evade - Charge Sequence in Impact Phase
- Replies: 12
- Views: 2887
- Mon Sep 07, 2009 9:23 am
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: Broken Rules
- Replies: 257
- Views: 33238
- Wed Aug 26, 2009 11:11 am
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: cheesy terrain?
- Replies: 166
- Views: 27378
if the terrain system is designed to have the feature distribution set out in the table, and there is a simple exploit which breaks that distribution, there is cause for concern, regardless of what sort of armies are perceived to benefit! johno I don't think its broken. It was designed. But people ...
- Wed Aug 26, 2009 10:36 am
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: cheesy terrain?
- Replies: 166
- Views: 27378
Why did we migrate away from the mechanism where the INVADER (iniative player) had to choose the terrain listed by the DEFENDER (non-iniative player)? Wouldn't this eliminate the GARRANTEE that a Steppe army plays in the Steppes? Gino SMAC Assuming you are referring to DBM then it is because we mov...
- Wed Aug 26, 2009 10:18 am
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: Interpentration and Blocking BG
- Replies: 29
- Views: 5808
they would not push back the pike since they have to interpenetrate them and the elephants since both units are pretty much even frontage to each other, so you would split the skirmishers if they can't clear the pikes but could clear the elephants. I would think you would end up with half your skir...
- Mon Aug 24, 2009 9:53 am
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: orb formation
- Replies: 41
- Views: 8473
So a small bunch of modern (unarmoured?) people riding on modern (unarmoured?) horses, operating under modern Insurance and Health and Safety rules - meaning that there must be no risk whatsoever of harming the people on foot, or the horses - being unwilling to approach spears is a good test that h...
- Mon Aug 24, 2009 9:39 am
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: Interpentration and Blocking BG
- Replies: 29
- Views: 5808
Each base is considered seperately. Logically the steps are: First you move the BG as if the other BGs weren't present. Now you fix the fact you have bases one on top of another. And base that is on top of another is moved forward to clear the BG(s) it is on top of. If there isn't a gap beyond the B...
- Sun Aug 23, 2009 2:01 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: orb formation
- Replies: 41
- Views: 8473
I am remeinded of a show on History where they used about 30 volunteers who were drilled to march in a spear formation and then form orb. To illustrate its effectivness a few mounted riders rode up and tried to get close to the formation, after they were asked what they felt. It was a wall of spear...
- Sun Aug 23, 2009 12:41 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: Interpentration and Blocking BG
- Replies: 29
- Views: 5808
Now I'm more confused than ever. Regarding the original diagrams: however from the shape of the BGs I would guess that at least 1 file of skirmishers has no pike in fron of them. One file of skirmishers did not contact the front of the pike and was in front of the Elephants. Asking some basic quest...
- Sun Aug 23, 2009 12:23 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: cheesy terrain?
- Replies: 166
- Views: 27378
There is no increased chance to shift / remove a road - and a shift of 6MU is not sufficient to permit a minimum width piece to be placed touching the edge. Thus a 5 or 6 is required to negate it. Pieces can be placed touching roads so a 6x4 would fit after the shift. You are correct - however it m...
- Sat Aug 22, 2009 2:14 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: orb formation
- Replies: 41
- Views: 8473
Indeed the 4 deep pike is awkards because it is a fighting formation rather han representation of a column, so yep would challenge words a bit. I gues one would create an exclusion for Pikes to cover that. I don't think such an exception should be only for pike - even for spear a 1 wide 4 deep is a...
- Sat Aug 22, 2009 1:05 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: orb formation
- Replies: 41
- Views: 8473
Explain how a BG that is 2 bases wide can contract to 2 bases wide. We have said from the outset that the rules are written in a non-legalise way by intent and with a view to the players applying some commmon sense and intelligence in their interpretation. Such an approach has clearly been a big su...
- Sat Aug 22, 2009 1:01 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: cheesy terrain?
- Replies: 166
- Views: 27378
Yep. Although it should be noted the increased chance to removed or shift the river/road. I think the road part is what I don't care for. I think terrain coming down after should result in the road being moved to on top of the terrain for exactly this reason. However the river's difficult is diced ...